Work week hours?

Allen
Go to solution Solved by Tizeye,

Work? Oh I remember work. When I drove truck I worked insane hours, that’s one of the reasons I quit driving truck. When I started at the forge shop they had me scheduled me 12 hrs a day and 8 hours on Saturday. Sometimes they didn’t need everybody to work twelve and the guys would fight over who would get to go home after eight. I always stayed. One of the guys asked me how I could work 12 hours every day? I told him it’s like a part time job working half days.

I did a 32 hour day when I was an air ambulance pilot.  This was to move critical patients after a train wreck in Edson, Alberta to hospitals in Vancouver.  Once and done, never again.  We do work some long days though.  Up to 18 hours but only 7 days in a row at which time the laws say we need 3 days off. 

• Heart 1

For about 4 months, I held....3 jobs. And some days did work 12 hrs. in day, across 2 different employers. I was in my 20's.  It didn't bother me at the time because I was earning money after several yrs. of student penury.

When my sister did her medical internship, she did pull in often 80 hr. work weeks.  There are published articles about medical interns and dangers of exhausting them on the job. You don't want them to make errors, etc.   Yes, she looked stressed and tired. 

She normally works a 12-hr. shift for 3 consecutive days at hospital. She sleeps at the hospital.  She is also a mother of 2 children and drives a 160 km. trip between work and home. This is her life for nearly past 20 yrs. The advantage is the rest of the week is her personal life.  

32 minutes ago, Longjohn said:

Work? Oh I remember work.

Yeah...   I remember too. 

49 minutes ago, Allen said:

How many hours can you stand to do in a day? And how long can you keep it up?