A saddle question

Longjohn
Go to solution Solved by donkpow,

Since I started riding serious miles when my boys were in high school I have never not rode until this past two years. My new bike has a really nice saddle that lines up with my sit bones, the problem is it hurts my butt. Is that because my butt is out of shape? It feels like I have bruises right over my sit bones.

I’m going to have to switch off to a saddle from one of my other bikes at least until the soreness goes away. I would love to be able to leave that Lynskey saddle on there. Possibly I need a slightly wider saddle? The soreness is over my sit bones but toward the inside.

4D98BA4C-77CF-4CEB-B75A-B7CFA83455FE.jpeg.d888484001b5caf97db7454f7d1308ad.jpeg

I would say because you're out of shape (or not used to riding), and here's the reason I say it. When I started riding after being off the bike for 3 months recovering from surgery, my butt was sore also. I too have the proper saddle because I did the static fit using the color changing pad, and dynamic fit. After a short time my butt was fine again. Just my 2 cents.

• Heart 3

I’d say your tushie is not accustomed to riding after a two year hiatus. Ride it out. But saddle size is something to consider. Does your local shop have an ass-meter? These are used to measure the width of your sit bones. That knowledge can then be used to buy the correct width saddle. Compare the width of your old saddle to that on the new bike. If they are the same, then suck it up buttercup and ride yourself back into shape.

• Heart 2
  • Haha 1

I've had the same saddle on my bike for may years.  I've never had saddle issues until the last few years.

Now that I ride less, each year for the first few rides (more or less) I get a sore butt.   A few days ago, I rode 30 miles with no pain in the ass.  For me at least the pain slowly goes away after I ride more often, until the day it doesn't hurt, and I don't notice it doesn't hurt.