I might have joined a cycling group

TrentonMakes

We went to a friend's 4th of July picnic on Saturday. I know his wife has ridden in the "Battle Against Hunger", a small local charity ride.  He's apparently handled SAG duties.  The founder of this ride was killed when a dump truck crashed into the back of his car, stopped at a red light :( - I had met him at the last one of these I attended.

I had been thinking of signing up for this ride, at least one of the one-day routes.  I met a bunch of people from this group and they do training rides most weekends, leaving from a church about five miles from my house.  I got on their email list.... we'll be busy this weekend but probably the next weekend I'll ride with these people,  I'm apprehensive since I'm afraid I won't be able to keep up - but then again I have little experience riding in a group and maybe that's what I need to help keep the fire lit under me.

Plus my wife would love it if I rode with other people.  There's one section I rode yesterday that was nothing but woods and if a car had bumped me into a ditch they'd probably still be looking for me.

(that section I'm talking about was a blast though - flat and a little twisty, and the pavement was heavy on the tar and light on the stone so it was buttery smooth.  I was flying :D )

• Heart 3

We went to a friend's 4th of July picnic on Saturday. I know his wife has ridden in the "Battle Against Hunger", a small local charity ride.  He's apparently handled SAG duties.  The founder of this ride was killed when a dump truck crashed into the back of his car, stopped at a red light :( - I had met him at the last one of these I attended.