Tizeye

Best job, and lessons learned

While we talked about worst jobs, how about best jobs. While I guess I could say my toying with part time retirement, the best actual job follow my first Masters degree. For 2 years I was a policy analyst in the Florida Legislature on the Committee for Health and Rehabilitative service. The second year I also staffed the subcommittee on the budget. We very much had to be non-partisan and basically be able to argue both sides of an issue, breaking it down. Myself and two others reviewed all bills, writing reports before the committee and penning amendments on the fly during committee hearings adapting what the legislator was trying to change within the bill. We had to stay in the shadows with all attention focused on the elected official. Always remember first, and was shocked when one of my reports killed a bill (that legislator, while her freshman year, later went on to become Lt Gov).  In the final days of the Session after all my work was done as bills had passed out of Committee to final Floor vote, would sit in the gallery and watch the strong egos battle it out.