Southern Accents in Local Commercials

MickinMD

Is it that the advertising agencies think Maryland is a typical southern state since it's just south of the Mason-Dixon Line or is everybody getting inundated with southern-accent commercials on local TV?

They use phrases like "downright expensive" and "over yonder" and pronounce words like "can't" as "cain't" that most people in the Baltimore-Washington Area associate with poorly educated southern immigrants to the State. When I was a teacher and we'd get student transfers from West Virginia or the Deep South, I had to lean on my students not to tease them about their accents, so I know it's not just an older generation thing.

If I used "downright" in a sentence among friends and relatives I'd be teased about it for the next year - but there it is in a commercial that's been running for months.

Not that there's anything better about the local accent, where "I'm going down to the ocean" often comes out as "Ahm goan downy awshun," but it seems foolish to me to put something in a commercial that would reflect badly on the thing you're selling.

You can tell that these commercials are not shot locally because there are local place names they get wrong: like Riviera Beach that is locally pronounced as "Riveera Beach," and Taneytown ("Tawnee-town" locally).

It's all downright stupid!

• Haha 1

Having spent time in  Virginia, WVA, Alabama, Kentucky, Tennessee, both Carolinas and Georgia I never once considered MD the south although technically it is.  Northern VA isn’t really the south either.

If I could roll up “the south” in one place it would have to be Memphis.

Just now, jsharr said:

The Texas accent was just voted sexiest in the US, ya'll.

Like I said, there's nothing great about the Maryland accent compared to Southern accents, but it seems incredibly stupid to me to put them - with locally "foreign" phrases - in local TV commercials. Why turn a significant portion of the population off?