Butt pain

Square Wheels

So, I just started riding a road bike this year, last year I rode a hybrid.  Clearly the road bike has a much harder saddle.

I am having more pain in my butt than I think I should be.  The pain is mostly a tissue / skin problem.  It hurts to touch the skin, and it can hurt to sit.

I have done three centuries this year and travelled just over 2500 miles.

I have high quality bibs, so I don't think that is the issue.

I had a saddle fitting at the beginning of the summer and we went through a few different saddles before we found what seemed like the best one for me.

I was told at the fitting that this is a hard sport and some pain is to be expected.  Two suggestions were to use Udder Cream on my butt after rides, and also as a chamois cream if needed, and to sit on a donut at work (desk jockey) when I ride a lot.

There have been a few times that the discomfort seems higher than it should be.  First, I tried to commute to work 5 days in a row this summer, I had to bail out after 3 days due to butt pain.  Next, I had been off the bike for 2 weeks and did a 60 mile (bumpy) ride this Saturday.  My butt still hurts.

Questions

Is it my saddle?

Do I just need to spend more time riding?

Would a new Pinarello help?

• Heart 1

a saddle will have an area where your sit bones go. If you were fitted for a saddle at a shop, then you probably have the right size saddle

but there's more to it than that

first, pay attention to where on the saddle you are actually sitting. I tend to slide out on the nose of the saddle if i don't pay attention, so make sure you are sitting with both sit bones supported by the saddle

second, make sure your saddle is level if you spend most of your time riding on the hoods. If you are set up with your saddle slightly dipped forward to accomadate you when riding in the drops, then when you are riding sitting up on teh hoods, you are going to slide forward. This will definitely hurt your butt