The pace of things

Dottleshead

I acknowledge I am getting older and I like things not as wham bam thank you mam. I hear stuff on the airwaves now that have a very short life span because the next latest and greatest thing has replaced it. No doubt it's the new age, computer age that has come about. Even though I work in the industry, I don't own the latest and greatest cell phone and people are generally surprised to learn I'm a throw back when it comes to burning wood. I just find that the pace of things is starting to pass me by and I really don't care.

I'm officially old, huh?

• Heart 1
  • Hugs 1

42 minutes ago, Dottles said:

I acknowledge I am getting older and I like things not as wham bam thank you mam. I hear stuff on the airwaves now that have a very short life span because the next latest and greatest thing has replaced it. No doubt it's the new age, computer age that has come about. Even though I work in the industry, I don't own the latest and greatest cell phone and people are generally surprised to learn I'm a throw back when it comes to burning wood. I just find that the pace of things is starting to pass me by and I really don't care.

I'm officially old, huh?

I think despite it being one of the hallmarks of age, I don't think it specifically denotes getting older as much as it does just being jaded and tired of getting excited for the next big thing. Since we work in the industry we see it more often than most people-- the new processor, the new cell phone, the new operating system, etcetera. So our jadedness is accelerated, and therefore you're still young! You can be out of touch and still be young, I see it more often these days. People of my generation and the one after it are creeping deeper and deeper into our anti-social Internet caves. 

P.S. just kidding you're all old and I'm the only young one on this dang site

P.P.S. I'm 27 now. :( I USED TO BE THE YOUNG ONE! Someone find my cane

• Heart 2
  • Awesome 1
  • Haha 1