So....I've become a runner

Further

11 hours ago, Dottie said:

Or double up my biking efforts. I have a semi-recumbent stationary bike I can sit my ass on for 30 minutes a day. That's on those days I am too lazy to get out and ride the electrical. Muhahahaha.

You could get a good workout on that e-bike if you ride it with the motor shut off. It would be like my touring bike pulling the trailer to DC with the cast iron kitchen sink in it.

• Haha 2

21 hours ago, Dottie said:

I know. I have been hovering around a certain weight for 10 months and I need something to break the log jam.

I started this silliness about 5 or 6 months ago. I was in pretty sad shape. I started by walking a trail through the woods, gradually adding running the uphills, uphill is more strenuous yet easier on the joints. So almost a half a year later I'm able to jog slowly for 3 miles at a stretch, and I've lost about 20 pounds.

• Heart 2
  • Awesome 2

3 minutes ago, Further said:

I started this silliness about 5 or 6 months ago. I was in pretty sad shape. I started by walking a trail through the woods, gradually adding running the uphills, uphill is more strenuous yet easier on the joints. So almost a half a year later I'm able to jog slowly for 3 miles at a stretch, and I've lost about 20 pounds.

BTW, the only running I enjoy is trail running, and you are absolutely spot on in the uphill is tougher yet easier concept. 

• Heart 1

17 minutes ago, Further said:

Yep. I think 3 miles is ideal. Do that 3 times a week and you're golden.

My friend Amy has taken up trail running. She posted a selfie after her run yesterday, she looked like she was beat. She said trail running is really different but she enjoys it.  She has done many Ironman races and podiumed on them. She claimed she has done her last Ironman. We’ll see.

• Heart 1

Just now, Dottie said: