Billie Joe's Jump off Tallahatchie Bridge wasn't the point!

MickinMD

1 hour ago, RalphWaldoMooseworth said:

Now this is the kind of in-depth deeply analytical posts we need more of, you slackers!

Stay tuned for "Who's buried in Grant's tomb". The burning question everyone asks, revealed!

I never did like that song. The radio stations played the crap out of it the year I graduated HS. I was glad I had a push button radio in my car to quickly change the station.

Does anyone else remember the car radios without the push buttons? Technology is a good thing. Didn’t have to listen to that stupid song. (No I didn’t listen to the link)

9 hours ago, MickinMD said:

“The song is sort of a study in unconscious cruelty. But everybody seems more concerned with what was thrown off the bridge than they are with the thoughtlessness of the people expressed in the song. What was thrown off the bridge really isn’t that important."

I was thinking about these sentences.  And I wonder whether she intended to primarily highlight that thoughtlessness in the song, and if she is therefore annoyed with all the people who fixate on the mystery of what was thrown?  Maybe she just needed more sentences that ended with "Tallahatchie Bridge" and the line about something being thrown was just chosen as something that fit.  Still, it's hard to imagine she wrote that line without an idea of what they were throwing.

I have a memory of discussing this song in a school music class, and the teacher mentioning the mystery of what they were throwing.  I don't recall if the passivity of the girl's family was also mentioned.